Honors Go to Food Coop, All Saints’ Church, Mike Vasievich, and James Little

You are on eastlansinginfo.org, ELi's old domain, which is now an archive of news (as of early April, 2020). If you are looking for the latest news, go to eastlansinginfo.news and update your bookmarks accordingly!


Friday, April 22, 2016, 3:40 pm
Alice Dreger

Left to right: Mike Vasievich, James Little, Rev. Kit Carlson from All Saints' Episcopal Church, and ELFCO’s Jazmin Bolan Williamson. Photo courtesy City of East Lansing.

East Lansing presented Crystal Awards to four recipients at a Hannah Center reception last night in recognition of outstanding community service. The City of East Lansing uses the Crystal Awards to recognize people and organizations that “are dedicated to enhancing the East Lansing community. They demonstrate a passion for and commitment to creating a healthy and vibrant community and serve as an inspiration to others.”

Rev. Kit Carlson accepted the award for All Saints’ Episcopal Church. The Church was honored for its partnership with the East Lansing Public Library in after-school programming. The Church has also provided substantial assistance while the Library has been under reconstruction, and has supported diversity within the community.

Jazmin Bolan Williamson, the front-end manager of the East Lansing Food Coop (ELFCO), accepted the grocery store’s award. ELFCO was honored for promoting healthy living and a vibrant cooperative community.

Mike Vasievich’s service has focused on environmental stewardship, while James Little was recognized for service to underprivileged youth, veterans, and the local business scene.

You can read much more about all the recipients at the City’s website.

This year’s award committee was chaired by Lynsey Clayton, daughter of award recipient James Little. (According to Heather Surface, the City’s Stewardship and Community Events Specialist, “Once the committee decided that [James Little] would, in fact be a finalist we asked Lynsey to join us back in the room for the rest of the discussion. Then, when James' nominator came in for his interview Lynsey once again left the room. She was present at all the other interviews. When the interviews were completed and James' nomination was discussed again, Lynsey left until the vote had been taken by the other members of the committee.”)

The four other members of the committee this year were Roger Peters, Cathy Jacobs, Alyssa Hoffman, and Kelly Ronquist. Susan Woods functioned as the City Council liaison.

Crystal Awards are given once annually, and the 2017 nomination form is already available.

eastlansinginfo.org © 2013-2020 East Lansing Info